2017 Wilson Award


George L. Wilson Award


Do You Have a Candidate for the 2017 Wilson Award?

The Dangerous Goods Advisory Council (DGAC) is an international, educational, nonprofit
membership organization representing shippers of varying sizes, carriers of all modes, container
manufacturers and reconditioners, as well as emergency response and waste clean‐up

Each year at its annual conference, DGAC presents the George L. Wilson Award to an individual,
organization or company that has demonstrated outstanding achievement in the field of
dangerous goods transportation safety.

This honor is awarded in memory of DGAC’s first President, George Wilson, who was recognized
for his many contributions and life‐long dedication to improving the safe transportation of
hazardous materials. While any significant act or series of actions could qualify an individual or
organization for consideration, the award is not intended as a means to recognize those who
have merely served for many years in the hazardous materials community. A recipient’s past
activities must have been characterized by performance well beyond the normal expectations
of industry by significant contributions to the development and understanding of national
and/or international regulations, promotion of improved and safer responses to hazmat
incidents, advancement of public knowledge about dangerous goods transportation safety, or
in some other way advancing the safe transportation of hazardous materials.

To nominate someone for the award, please complete the attached nomination form and
return to Gail Cooley (gcooley@dgac.org) at the DGAC office by July 14, 2017. You may either
use the electronic version of the form or print it out and fill it in by hand.
If you have questions, please call the DGAC office at 202‐289‐4550.

Thank You!
DGAC Awards Committee